Public Republic random header image

Category "Evergreens"

Photo of the Day

November 4, 2012 by · 5 comments

Photo: Ivo Oreshkov

The Natural Order of Things

October 23, 2012 by · 6 comments

Kevin P. Keating The Natural Order of Things, comprised of 15 interconnected stories, is properly thought of as a novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio or John Steinbeck’s The Pastures of Heaven―but with a gothic sensibility. The novel concerns the adventures and exploits of a small group of students, teachers, employees, and […]

The Week… The Invisible with Rumi

August 4, 2012 by · 2 comments

Photo: Mikko Luntiala Longing is the core of mystery Longing itself brings the cure. The only rule is, suffer the pain. Your desire must be disciplined, And what you want to happen In time, sacrificed. * Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment. * Photo: Steve A Johnson Forget safety. Live where you fear to live. […]

The Week… Raindrops with Susan Sontag

April 3, 2011 by · 5 comments

Photo: beamillion Sanity is a cozy lie. Today everything exists to end in a photograph. Photo: mark217 I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list. The likelihood that your acts of resistance cannot stop the injustice does not exempt you from acting in what you sincerely and reflectively hold to be the best interests […]

The Lighting Technicians

January 17, 2011 by · No comments

Kristin Dimitrova Photo: calliope Theodor Bogdanov was powdering his face. “Sometimes I think he is following me. No, I’m sure he follows me. Hiding in the doorway of the house across the street, waiting for me to come out. Then, as I’m trying to figure out whether the drizzle is worth an umbrella, and I’m […]

The Week… Double vision with Michael Ondaatje

January 3, 2011 by · 1 comment

Photo: piermario A novel is a mirror walking down a road. We die containing a richness of lovers and tribes, tastes we have swallowed, bodies we have plunged into and swum up as if rivers of wisdom, characters we have climbed into as if trees, fears we have hidden in as if caves.

The Week… Light with Zdzisław Beksiński

December 12, 2010 by · 4 comments

Zdzisław Beksiński, 1984 I am obsessed with the process of creation. In my paintings I never use any “means”. I paint them completely naively, just as I would be taking photos of my own dreams.

Let’s listen to Matt Charles…

December 6, 2010 by · 2 comments

Ludmila Yordanova This is a true story. A story indeed. Almost a saga. It has a protagonist – the singer and composer Matt Charles. It also has the circumstances required for the story to happen. The wind, the rain and the sun of Hamburg (the order of appearance varies). There are three different locations where […]


March 1, 2009 by · No comments

Valentin Krustev Photo: Mariana Velichkova This crimson tassel stands for blood— May yours gallop safe and sound! The threads of white are blinks of good that everyone can find around. Just wear it indoors and out, until you see the first green sprout. Then hang it on a budding branch and good will launch its […]

New Year quotations

December 30, 2008 by · No comments

Photo: 28481088@N00 Year’s end is neither an end nor a beginning but a going on, with all the wisdom that experience can instill in us. Hal Borland Cheers to a New Year and another chance for us to get it right. Oprah Winfrey We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going […]

A Dead Doe in the Wild

October 11, 2008 by · No comments

Unknown Author, c. 600BC Photo: I’mClaude a dead doe in the wild shrouded in white reeds there is a girl, spring-longing a gentleman to seduce her

Welcome to Public Republic!

September 14, 2008 by · 1 comment

Dear friends, We are now “officially” starting our Public Republic project in English! Encouraged by the exciting success of the journal in Bulgaria ( and by the enthusiasm of our US-editor Katerina Stoykova-Klemer, we prepared the site in a similarly broad manner as the Bulgarian edition. We believe, we will soon have many contributions, a […]