Public Republic random header image

Category "News"

Bansko Jazz 2017 – the programme

March 9, 2017 by · No comments

The International Jazz Festival in Bansko is one of the biggest summer musical events in Bulgaria and one of the foremost international cultural happenings on the Balkans. Since its foundation in 1998 the festival has been held every year in August in the small town of Bansko. The concerts are free for the public. Traditionally, […]

Bulgarian participation in the Spring exhibition of “The Knitting&Stitching Show” in London

April 3, 2015 by · No comments

Dimana Ivanova The admirers of the “arts and crafts”, knitting and stitching products had the opportunity to gather together again at the exhibition of “The Knitting&Stitching Show” which took part from the 5-th to 8-th of March in the Olympia Hall in Central London. The spectators at the exhibition had the opportunity to admire and […]

Bansko Jazz 2014 – the programme

April 29, 2014 by · No comments

The International Jazz Festival in Bansko is one of the biggest summer musical events in Bulgaria and one of the foremost international cultural happenings on the Balkans. Since its foundation in 1998 the festival has been held every year in August in the small town of Bansko. The concerts are free for the public. Traditionally, […]

The Season of Delicate Hunger

January 21, 2014 by · No comments

The Season of Delicate Hunger is a 334-page collection of contemporary Bulgarian poetry, containing 197 translations of works by 32 Bulgarian authors. All of these authors are alive, writing and actively participating in the Bulgarian poetry scene. They represent a diversity of talent, ranging in age from 72 to 21, with each at a unique […]

Meet a Bulgarian Poet: Kristin Dimitrova

January 7, 2014 by · 1 comment

Katerina Stoykova-Klemer As part of a new feature, Accents is proud to spotlight the Bulgarian-language poets of The Season of Delicate Hunger. Our first is Kristin Dimitrova. Kristin Dimitrova was born on May 19th, 1963 in Sofia. She is the author of 10 books of poetry, most recently The Garden of Expectations and the Opposite […]

SCIENCITY DUESSELDORF

August 5, 2013 by · 1 comment

Under the headline SCIENCITY DUESSELDORF and the motto “INTERFACES – the Art of Science” Dusseldorf will be highlighted as a European capital of science, art and culture.

Bansko Jazz 2013 – the programme

July 27, 2013 by · No comments

The International Jazz Festival in Bansko is one of the biggest summer musical events in Bulgaria and one of the foremost international cultural happenings on the Balkans. Since its foundation in 1998 the festival has been held every year in August in the small town of Bansko. The concerts are free for the public. Traditionally, […]

Bulgarian Fiction NYghts

April 15, 2013 by · 2 comments

22 – 25 April, New York Open Letter Books & The Elizabeth Kostova Foundation are pleased to mark the publication of two new books: ANGEL IGOV’s A Short Tale Of Shame (Open Letter Books, 2013) ZACHARY KARABASHLIEV’s 18% Gray (Open Letter Books, 2013) Meet the two authors and the translator, Angela Rodel, at the following […]

Videoholica 2013

April 5, 2013 by · 2 comments

artnovini.com Marta Szmyd (Poland): Gnarls Barkley: Crazy (unofficial fan art video). Photo: © Marta Szmyd/© videoholica.org Videoholica 2013 starts the new open call for video art submissions for its 6th edition The 6th Videoholica – International Video Art Festival in Varna, Bulgaria – will take place between 1st and 5th August 2013 in Varna, Bulgaria. […]

Happy Easter!

March 31, 2013 by · 8 comments

Photo: jamieanne The Public Republic team would like to take this time to extend Happy Easter wishes to all. We hope this Easter holiday fills your homes with peace, joy, and plenty of colorful Easter eggs!

“Hey You” – new video by Léah Kline

February 13, 2013 by · No comments

“Hey You!” started as a poem written in a cafe in Amsterdam by Leah Kline and was set to music by the jazz composer Dirk Balthaus. The young actor Jasper van der Veen and the musicians Wolfgang Maiwald and Jase Maxwell helped to produce the corresponding video released on January 15, 2013. Music: Dirk Balthaus […]

Synesthesia – new album by The Kandinsky Effect

February 11, 2013 by · 1 comment

The Kandinsky Effect Europe CD Release Shows Conceived on Paris’s cosmopolitan jazz scene, forged on the road in America, and informed by international currents in electronic music, The Kandinsky Effect is a jazz power trio for the 21st century. The trans-Atlantic band, based in New York City and Paris, makes its Cuneiform debut with Synesthesia, […]

Wishing You a Very Merry Christmas

December 25, 2012 by · 1 comment

Photo: kelp1966 Public Republic wishes you a Blessed Christmas – may the good times and treasures of the present become the golden memories of tomorrow! Christmas Bells by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow I heard the bells on Christmas Day Their old, familiar carols play, And wild and sweet The words repeat Of peace on earth, good-will […]

Go through the Portals of Your Own Self

December 22, 2012 by · No comments

Only a few days remain until December 31st, 2012 – the deadline of the essay contest “PORTALS” created by the artist ​​ViKtor Mazhlekov . This intriguing challenge is part of an even larger project of the same name which combines Mazhlekov’s exhibition of 13 paintings, an animated film inspired by them, and the contest itself. […]

ARCADIA MUNDI and Gheorghi Arnaoudov’s Phantasmagorias

November 21, 2012 by · 1 comment

LONDON FESTIVAL OF BULGARIAN CULTURE Sunday, 25 November, 2012 – 19:30 Photo: Gheorghi Arnaoudov – Photo Alexander Nishkov The launch of the new Arcadia Mundi Orchestra features an exciting blend of some the 20th century’s most thrilling works, a UK premiere by the Bulgarian composer Arnaoudov and the all-time-favourite ‘Jupiter’ Symphony by Mozart. LFBC in […]

Artissima Turin 2012

November 1, 2012 by · 1 comment

Galerie Emanuel Layr (Vienna, Austria) is pleased to inform you about our participation at Artissima Turin 2012, 9 – 11 Nov, New Entries, booth 16, violet hall Artists at the fair: Plamen Dejanoff, Benjamin Hirte, Lisa Holzer, Nick Oberthaler Photo: Bejamin Hirte – heart glass shovel beat, 2012

The Natural Order of Things

October 23, 2012 by · 6 comments

Kevin P. Keating The Natural Order of Things, comprised of 15 interconnected stories, is properly thought of as a novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio or John Steinbeck’s The Pastures of Heaven―but with a gothic sensibility. The novel concerns the adventures and exploits of a small group of students, teachers, employees, and […]

Common Frequency – Exhibition at Radiator Gallery, NYC

October 23, 2012 by · No comments

Piñata Portrait by Jennifer and Kevin McCoy, 2012 Artists: Jennifer & Kevin McCoy, Boryana Rossa & Oleg Mavromatti, Eve & Adam Bailey, Yana Dimitrova & Sebastien Sanz de Santamaria Curator: Daniela Kostova Common Frequency Oct 5 – Oct 28, 2012 Opening Receptions: Oct 5, 6-9PM Radiator Gallery 10-61 Jackson Ave, Long Island City, NY 11106 […]

“Public Republic” turns 6!

October 21, 2012 by · 1 comment

Six years ago today, the realization of an idea began – the idea for a global scene for writers, artists, journalists and all other people interested in the arts. Photo: tonyhall The sixth year is critical in human life – at six, we slowly but irreversibly start seeing the watershed between myth and logos; magic […]

What Is Radical Philosophy Today?

October 8, 2012 by · 1 comment

10th Biennial Radical Philosophy Association Conference and 30th Anniversary of the RPA Canisius College, Buffalo, New York October 11-14/2012 The 10th Biennial Radical Philosophy Association Conference which coincides with the 30th Anniversary of the RPA, will bring together some of the world’s best philosophers who will be discussing theoretical and practical issues in: