Public Republic random header image

Bansko Jazz 2014 – the programme

April 29, 2014 by · No comments

Jazz Festival Bansko

The International Jazz Festival in Bansko is one of the biggest summer musical events in Bulgaria and one of the foremost international cultural happenings on the Balkans.

Since its foundation in 1998 the festival has been held every year in August in the small town of Bansko. The concerts are free for the public.

Traditionally, the programme features styles and groups representing almost all jazz trends. During the festival week jazz is also played on various smaller stages in the large resort complexes and restaurants.



8 – 13 August


August 8th, Friday

Camellia Todorova & Brass Association COMBO (Bulgaria)
Camellia Todorova – vocals,
Mihail Yossifov – trumpet,
Velislav Stoyanov – trombone,
Milen Kukosharov – piano,
Boris Taslev – double bass,
Borislav Petrov – drums

JeSánte (USA)
JeSánte – vocals,
Evan Ubiera – guitar,
Kaley Puckett – keys,
Cody Rahn – drums,
Alex Minier – bass

Magnetik (Bulgaria)
Ilin Grivishki /Dj ilko/ – sampling, beats & programming,
Michael Fleming – vocals,
Mladen Dimitrov /Mr. Moon/ – composer, drums, producer,
Philip Alexandrov /Fingertone/ – keys,
Angel Dyulgerov /Free Style,
Tubehedz/ – guitar, brass section

Incognito (UK)
Jean Paul Maunick (Bluey) – guitar, vocals,
Matthew Cooper – keyboards,
Vanessa Haynes – vocals,
Anthony Momrelle – vocals,
Katie Hector – vocals,
Francesco Mendolia – drums,
João Caetano – percussion,
Francis Hylton – bass,
Sidney Gauld – trumpet,
James Anderson – saxophone,
Trevor Mires – trombone

August 9th, Saturday

Vassil Petrov & Big Band Blagoevgrad (Bulgaria)
conductor Boris Yanev
with solo performances by Christina Paleva & Mariana Kostova

Kuba Stankiewicz Quartet (Poland)
Kuba Stankiewicz – piano,
Maciej Sikala – tenor and soprano saxophone,
Wojcieh Pulcyn – bass,
Sebastian Frankiewicz – drums

China Moses & Raphaël Lemonnier (USA/France)
China Moses – vocals,
Raphaël Lemonnier – piano,
Fabien Marcoz – bass, Jean-Pierre Derouard – drums,
Atanas Hadjiev – sax

Eight Wheel Drive (8WD) (Germany)
Wolfgang “Pannas” Dannecker – vocals,
Manni Schmelzer – trombone,
Achim Rietzler – saxophone,
Jos Wetzels – trumpet,
Wolfgang “Dufte” Albers – guitar,
Willie Bergen – bass,
Dick Franssen – keyboard & organ,
Charlie T – drums

August 10th, Sunday

Stefka Onikian, instrumental trio “Rocky’s”, vocal trio “Sunny”
and young Bulgarian jazz talents

Rossella Graziani & Dolce Vita (Italy)
Rossella Graziani – vocals,
Luigi Sidero – piano,
Giorgio Santisi – bass,
Stefano Perez Peretto – drums

Axel Zwingenberger (Germany) & Keito Saito (Japan)

Dr. Vodkatini (Greece)
Cristina Fontana – vocals,
Gelly Flouri – vocals,
MC Yinka – vocals,
Christos Tsamardas – guitar, vocals,
Daniel Adegbola – bass, vocals,
Dionisis Kokolis – trumpet, Sam
Marlieri – tenor & alto sax,
Zoe Efstathiou – keyboards,
Stefanos Psaradakis – drums,
Dimitris Kefalidis – percussion

August 11th, Monday

Elena Koleva & the Fifth Season Quartet (Bulgaria)
Elena Koleva – vocal,
Plamen Karadonev – accordion, piano,
Dimitar Karamfilov – double bass,
Hristo Yotzov – percussion, drums

Iyeoka (USA)
Iyeoka – lead vocals and African drum,
David Franz – bass, guitar and drums,
Andrew Bergman – saxophone,
Brian Capobianchi – acoustic guitar, backing vocals and rap vocals lead solos,
Jayson Fann – percussion, drums

Jive Aces (UK)
Ian Clarkson – lead vocals, trumpet, ukulele,
“Big“ John Fordham – tenor sax, clarinet, fiddle,
Alex Douglas – trombone, washboard, bongos, harmonica,
Vince “Professor“ Hurley – piano,
Ken Smith – double bass,
Peter “Bilky“ Howell – drums

August 12th, Tuesday

Sound Underground Trio (USA)
Jonah Udall – guitar,
David Leon – alto saxophone,
Alec Aldred – trumpet & flugelhorn

Nigun (Hungary)
Andras Parniczky – guitar,
Peter Bede – saxophone,
Peter Ajtai – double bass,
István Baló– drums

Tania Maria Viva Brazil Quartet (Brazil)
Tania Maria – vocal and piano,
Marc Bertaux – guitar bass,
Caio Mamberti – percussion,
Hubert Colau – drums

Dirty Purchase & Amalia (Bulgaria)
Hristoslav Galileev-Galio – bass guitar,
Nikolai Danev – drums and percussion,
Liudmil Stoinev – keyboard, guitar and violin,
Ivan Letchev – guitar and violin,
Mihail Iosifov – trumpet,
Velislav Stoyanov – trombone,
Emil Mintchev – vocal,
Amalia – voca

August 13th, Wednesday

Assaf Kehati Trio (Israel)
Assaf Kehati – guitar,
Ronen Itzik – drums,
Ehud Ettun – double bass

Hubert Tubbs & Band (USA/Austria)
Hubert Tubbs – vocal,
Steve Hooks –saxophones,
Andy Vanura – keyboard,
Andy Krausböck – guitars,
Karl Sayer – bass,
Heini Altbart – drums

Sheila E. (USA)
Sheila E. – band leader, vocals, percussion, drums,
Mike Blankenship – keys,
Marc van Wageningen – bass,
Yohei Nakamura – guitar,
Joel Behrman – trombone,
Eddie M (Minnifield) – sax,
David Morolongo – vocalist,
Chris Coleman – drums

Related posts ↓

No comments so far ↓

  • Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!